VBS Blues Calendar –   February 15, 2019

Here are this year’s Maple Blues award winners. Congratulations to them and all the artists nominated.

  • Male Vocalist of the Year – Colin James
  • Female Vocalist of the Year – Angel Forrest
  • Drummer of the Year – Lindsay Beaver
  • Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year – David Vest
  • Blues Booster Award – The Hornby Island Blues Society
  • Acoustic Act of the Year – Big Dave McLean
  • Electric Act of the Year – Colin James
  • Horn Player of the Year – Shirley Jackson
  • Harp Player of the Year – Steve Marriner
  • Guitarist of the Year – Sue Foley
  • Bassist of the Year – Laura Greenberg of the JW-Jones Band
  • The Cobalt Prize for Contemporary Blues Composition – Ann Vriend – “It’s Happening”
  • B.B. King International Artist of the Year – Buddy Guy
  • Recording Producer of the Year – Dave Meszeros for Colin James’ Miles to Go
  • New Artist/Group of the Year – Emily Burgess
  • Blues with Feeling Award – Ellen McIlwaine
  • Entertainer of the Year – Colin James

VBS Up Coming Shows

Sat March 2 – Bluestravaganza – 5 Bands  V-Lounge 7 pm – $10 at the door only

Bluest19

Sat June 1 – Mark Hummel Golden State-Lone Star Revue – V-Lounge 8 pm

Tickets to be announced.

SEE THE MOST CURRENT BLUES LISTINGS AT THIS LINK:  

www.victoriabluessociety.ca


ONGOING

Sunday Blues Service Jam – @ V-Lounge in the Red Lion. 3:00-7:30 pm  

unnamed

Sunday Blues Jam – Queens Hotel, Nanaimo 4-8 pm. Host bands.

2019

Fri Feb 15

Dave Harris and Friends – Cup of Joe 5-7

Sat Feb 16

David Vest – Hermann’s

Old Tin Shack – Gorgeous Coffee

Sat Feb 23

Doug Cox/Ken Hall/Rick May – The Oaks (Blues for Eric)

00001

Blue Moon Marquee – Northern Quarter

Sun Feb 24

Black & Gogol – Bart’s – 11AM-2PM

Thur Feb 28

Lazy & Slim – Ross Bay Pub

Fri Mar 1

Kenny Blues Boss Wayne – Upstairs Lounge

Poster_18x28_Kenny_Blues_Boss_Wayne_Mar1_bleed_poster

Dave Harris & Friends – Cup of Joe – 5-7pm

Sat Mar 2

Soul Shakers – Bart’s

Comerford Blues Project – Christies Pub 8-11 – Featuring Old Tin Shack

Bluestravaganza – 5 Bands  V-Lounge 7 pm – $10 at the door only

Bluest19

Thur Mar 7

Kingmixers – Ross Bay

Fri Mar 8

Big Dave McLean – Upstairs Lounge – Opening Rhymer & Wells

Poster_18x28_Big_Dave_Rhymer_Wells_Mar8_2019_bleed_poster

Sat Mar 9

Hank Angel & Island Devils – The Loft

Give Them Their Flowers – Distrikt Nightclub – 2-6

50709879_2258265880871397_7381549455985606656_n

Thur Mar 14

Mark Comerford – Ross Bay Pub – w/ Norm Piercy on bass

Fri Mar 15

Carlos Del Junco – Upstairs Lounge

Dave Harris & Friends – Cup of Joe – 5-7pm

Sat Mar 16

Dave Harris, Sharon Wadsworth & Jack Lavin – Blues For Eric – The Oaks

South Island Rhythm Kings – The Loft

Old Tin Shack – Gorgeous Coffee

Bill Johnson Trio – Boondocks Sidney

Sun  Mar 17

Colin James – Royal Theatre

Fri Mar 22

Dave Harris & Friends – Cup of Joe – 5-7 pm

Fri Mar 29

Dave Harris & Friends – Cup of Joe – 5-7 pm

Sat Apr 20

Mary Flower/Doug Cox – Upstairs Lounge

Fri Apr 26

Tim Williams/Terry Robb – Upstairs Lounge

Fri May 3

Rick Fines/Suzie Vinnick – Upstairs Lounge

Sat May 4

Benjamin Dakota Rogers/Blue Moon Marquee – Upstairs Lounge

Sat June 1

Mark Hummel Golden State-Lone Star Revue – V-Lounge 8 pm


LAST CALL

IMG_0003

LINKS

VBS BLUES CALENDAR

VANCOUVER BLUES AROUND TOWN

NANAIMO BLUES SOCIETY & FESTIVAL

WHITE ROCK BLUES SOCIETY

FRASER VALLEY BLUES SOCIETY

BLUES FESTIVAL GUIDE 

BLUES BLAST MAGAZINE

BLUES IN VICTORIA ON FACEBOOK

The Blues Calendar newsletter is published  and emailed on or about the 1st and 15th of the month. The online version is up-to-dated within 48 hours of news receipt.

If you would like to receive this calendar by email, please send your request to our Web Editor: victoriabluessociety@gmail.com  A membership is not required.

BLUES ARTISTS – Get your local gig in our website’s Blues Calendar by sending an email to our Web Editor:  victoriabluessociety@gmail.com